Coconut, Cranberry & Raisin Müsli

Growing up in my parents’ hyggelige, or cozy, house, there seemed to be two Müsli “camps” among the family members: those who ate my mom’s somewhat famous müsli drenched in milk and topped with banana slices; and those who preferred sprinkling, or rather pouring, the newly made müsli over plain or fruit yogurt. Of the two camps, I was definitely an Eagle Scout in the latter one! And not only did I like the müsli over yogurt but I also loved – and still love – the müsli over buttermilk! 

That makes me think of a conversation I had at work yesterday. Among my co-workers, one is a short Russian lady with bright red hair and a thick accent. Over lunch she (almost) had the whole table convinced that kefir and buttermilk is the one and same thing: “… At my Russian store, they sell kefir buttermilk. It is the same product. It is the exact same product.” Well, she didn’t exactly convince Mrs. Bentley here. I didn’t want to seem rude (and wound her Russian pride) but I knew that they were not the same.

Kefir is produced by using a starter community of kefir grains. The starter is added to milk and then left to ferment over time. Buttermilk, on the other hand, traditionally was the liquid left over from churning butter out of cream. Nowadays, buttermilk is made from cow’s milk (cultured buttermilk). The tartness in buttermilk comes from the lactic acid bacteria (streptococcus lactis or lactobacillus bulgaricus). So yes, kefir and buttermilk are two different dairy products. OK, let me get back on track!

Tonight, I wanted to have müsli for dinner since my husband was not going to be joining me. Whenever I eat müsli it makes me think of my mom and that little sweet house where I grew up in Skovlunde. Mmm!

My version of müsli is a little different from my mom’s and—if I may say so myself—I actually like mine a little better. Enjoy!

 

Coconut, Cranberry & Raisin Müsli

Ingredients:

  • 250ml oats (1 cup)
  • 125ml Raisin Bran cereal (1/2 cup)
  • 80-125ml brown sugar (1/3-1/2 cup), depending on how sweet and crispy you like it
  • 125 ml almonds (1/2 cup), slivered
  • 125ml coconut (1/2 cup), shredded
  • 60ml raisins (1/4 cup)
  • 60ml dried cranberries (1/4 cup)

Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a big pot over medium heat.
  2. Be patient at first; don’t stir too much until the brown sugar begins to caramelize.
  3. While the sugar melts, stir well, again and again until you smell the toasted ingredients and until the brown sugar crystals can no longer be seen. Don’t let it burn!
  4. Let the müsli cool, then place it in a container with a lid. I’ve eaten up to a couple weeks after making it.

 

