Meyer Lemon & Cardamom Crêpes

If I had a $1 bill for every time I’ve flipped a crêpe in any kitchen across the world, I’d have to vacuum-seal my dinero and place it safely in a crawl space like Walter White from Breaking Bad, Season 4. Or perhaps I could swim in it as Scrooge McDuck does, so effortlessly. Either way, I’d be rich, because my experiences with crêpes are plentiful. Somewhere along the way word got out that I knew how to make these thin miracles pretty well.

The other day, though, my cousin reminded me of that one time when they did not turn out the way I wanted them to. I was 15 or 16. It was summer, and I was at a hardcore girls camp. Tents. Cooking over the fire. Natural showers only. In my group there were 6 girls that year. The oldest girl, Kitty, was just a few months older than me. Oh how I love and miss that girl! Kitty was a fire master extraordinaire. She could get a fire going in any weather condition; for so many years she saved us from going hungry and cold. My responsibility was to be the head chef for our little group, and to delegate cooking assignments to the younger girls. We were given some basic food items; flour, sugar, water, etc. As sides to the main meal (spaghetti Bolognese) we were supposed to make “pot bread,” which is basically dough put in a flower pot and placed in the fire and, you guessed it, crêpes for dessert. Well, I’d hate to bore you (or humiliate me) with the details of that tragic evening. It suffices to say that I managed to spill every single noodle on the grass when I drained the pasta water. While I tried to clean up my spaghetti mess in the grass, the pot breads burned, and were inedible. And this is what made the night an absolute catastrophe: my crêpes stuck to the pan, and we were left without dessert! That never happens to me!

Years after this incident, I think the deep wounds have finally healed ;-) The reason why I am sharing this story with you is to tell you that if the crêpes don’t turn out the way you want them to the first time around, don’t stop trying. You’ll be richly rewarded for your effort and consistency down the road! Rewarded with compliments. Tonight a neighbor said, “I just had the best crêpe of my life… It was like going in utopia and flying around with angels.” 

 

Meyer Lemon & Cardamom Crêpes

Ingredients:

  • 375 ml wheat flour (1.5 cups)
  • 4-6 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 5 pinches of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar
  • A pinch of cardamom
  • Lemon juice and grated zest of 1/2 Meyer lemon
  • 500ml milk (2 cups)
  • 3 eggs
  • 50g butter (1.5 oz)

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter in a crêpe pan or other non-stick pan. Make sure it does not burn. Let the pan cool.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients in a big bowl. Add the milk, little by little and stir vigorously to get rid of any lumps. Add the eggs and stir. Add the butter, lemon juice and zest, and stir.
  3. Reheat the greased pan at medium-high. When the butter is sizzling, hold the pan with one hand and pour the batter into the pan with the other. Hold the pan at an angle when you pour the batter and slowly move in a circle, either clockwise or counter-clockwise. This will make a very thin crêpe. Add little drops of batter if there are any holes in the cooking crêpe where needed.
  4. Flip over the crêpe with a spatula (or in the air like a true pro!) when light brown edges are showing.
  5. Cook shortly, approximately 10-15 seconds on the other side.
  6. Place the cooked crêpe on a plate, with foil to cover. Enjoy with jam, powdered sugar, syrup, honey, fruit and ice cream, Nutella or peanut butter. You could leave out the sugar and vanilla and instead make it savory.

 

