Dark Chocolate & Coconut Müsli

 

Although we always kept a box of candy in my parents’ food storage for “emergencies,” it was a general rule and priority in my family to stay healthy. My mom would go out of her way to get (or bake) whole wheat bread and stock up on fruits and vegetables. We rarely went out for dinner but stayed home and enjoyed my mom’s cooking, which was always accompanied with a salad on the side.

 

 

But when we travelled in the summertime it was a different story. Every year we would drive to Italy, passing through Germany and Austria on the way, and, on the way home, we’d hit Switzerland. We always bought Nutella to go with the Italian grissinis. We splurged by having ice cream on the beach while tanning. Our dinner often consisted of Italian pizza at one of the pizzerias close by, and we would top off our evening with yet another ice cream during our evening walk.

 

 

One year (out of the 12 years I went), though, that we decided to stay in Denmark. My grandparents owned a cozy, wooden cabin in Northern Zealand (the island where Copenhagen is), and we ended up spending a week there. My mom had bought various groceries to fill up the cabinets, and I remember one product in particular: Quaker’s chocolate granola. I knew that when we came back home I would not have the luxury to eat this, as my mom would not normally buy it. So I had to make it count! And I did.

 

 

I know I can buy Quaker products in California, but there is just something about making müsli myself that is just so satisfying (and inexpensive)!

 

 

The following recipe is my take on the Quaker version, and I am pretty sure that mine is a bit healthier than the store-bought version. And, with my version, I can choose how much chocolate I put in there…

 

 

 

Dark Chocolate & Coconut Müsli

Ingredients:

  • 250ml oats (1 cup)
  • 80-120ml brown sugar (1/3-1/2 cup)
  • 80ml shredded coconut (1/3 cup)
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder
  • Cranberries, optional
  • 50g dark chocolate (2 oz), 70%, chopped

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet, heat all the ingredients but leave out 25g (1 oz) of the dark chocolate. Stir occasionally.
  2. When toasted, take off heat and let müsli cool on a baking sheet. When cool, add the rest of the chocolate. Store in an airtight container.

 

