Artichoke & Sun Dried Tomato Quinoa Salad

 

Before my husband and I got married, Adam had never tried quinoa, bulgur, couscous, pearl couscous, or amaranth. To be honest, I think some of these alternatives to rice, pasta and potatoes seemed a little intimidating to him.   At least, he was acting a little cautious the first time he placed the foreign grains on his fork. ;-) What he did not know was that he was just introduced to a whole new world. After having served these grains on a regular basis for dinner, he has come to really like most of them (we are still working on amaranth…).

I love cooking with and trying new foods. Why always stick with the same ol’ same ol’? You might be missing out on some amazing foods, which are just waiting to be tried! One of these foods is quinoa, which I am so glad is becoming more popular (at least among the health freaks).

 

 

Instead of a grain, quinoa is actually a pseudo-cereal. Quinoa ranges in colors from black to red, gray, pink, yellow, purple, green, and orange. I personally like cooking with yellow, or a mixture of red and yellow. One of my favorite things about quinoa is the nutritional value it adds to the table. It is high in dietary fiber, and it contains a whopping 18% protein. Oh, and no need to mix the quinoa with other food items such as beans or corn to create a complete proteins. These little pearls already contain complete proteins! Nice! That could very well be a way you housewives could convince your husbands to eat more quinoa: “But it will make you so big and strong, Honey!” 

A while ago I was going through one of Trader Joe’s cookbooks. As I looked over the pages to see what could convince me in the direction of the kitchen, this dish caught my eye. Before I knew it I was off to the grocery store to buy the necessary ingredients. The flavors of this dish are amazing! And it is so convenient, easy, and fast to make! 

I have tried serving the salad as both a side dish to barbecue and to salmon, and both work great. You can serve it either warm or cold. 

 

Artichoke & Sun Dried Tomato Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 350ml dry quinoa (1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 jar marinated artichokes (350g or 12-oz); do not drain
  • 1/2 jar sun dried tomatoes (250g or 8.5-oz), drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Prepare the quinoa according to the package directions. Roughly chop artichokes.
  2. In a pot, heat the liquid from the artichokes with the onion, artichokes and tomatoes. Bring to a boil.
  3. Stir in the cooked quinoa and let the quinoa absorb the liquid. Add a little sugar, salt and pepper, if needed.
  4. Fluff, stir in basil and serve.

 

