Sweet Dinner Rolls

 

These dinner rolls have been a hit every time I’ve thrown a party. No matter if it’s Easter, the 4th of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas, a birthday party, or a home-barbecue, I guarantee that your guests will vacuum the table for every single roll…and they’ll come asking for more.

Ever since I found this recipe online, I have stuck with it. I have even deleted my other dinner roll recipes! Now I know I may be sounding like an actress in a poorly made commercial for some horrible product, but all the things I am telling you really are true. :-) Guests always ask for the recipe. And they always want extra honey whipped butter.

A couple of tips when it comes to using yeast: In Denmark it is very common to use fresh yeast, so it was really hard for me to adapt to the dry kind in America. I have found that using frozen yeast is the way to go (think Costco). This way it stays good longer. Always use the water and milk at a little hotter temperature than you usually would. The frozen yeast is cold and will bring down the temperature a little. After having mixed and kneaded the dough, I will heat up a cup of warm water (until it boils) in the microwave and place the bowl with the dough, covered with a tea towel in the microwave with the cup — without turning on the microwave — and let it sit in there. That way it gets all steamy and hot inside the microwave and my dough grows beautifully every time.

You can shape these rolls whatever way you like. This time I made a big rectangle, and then cut it horizontally and several times vertically to my desired length. I then just roll them up, from the top to the bottom. But I have also shaped them into normal buns and cut wedges out of circles to create the classic croissant shape. They all work great and are equally popular! 

 

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Ingredients:

  • 125ml lukewarm water (1/2 cup)
  • 125ml lukewarm milk (1/2 cup)
  • 7g package frozen active dry yeast (.25 oz) 
  • 900ml all-purpose flour (3 3/4 cups)
  • 80ml white sugar (1/3 cup)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 80ml butter (1/3 cup), softened
  • 60ml butter (1/4 cup), softened, for spreading

Directions:

  1. Heat up the water and milk in the microwave, approximately 1 minute. Add the yeast and 1 tsp sugar. Mix and set aside.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients. Add to the yeast mixture. 
  3. Add the egg and 80ml butter. Knead. Let the dough rise for 1 hour in a warm place (see above).
  4. Turn the dough onto a floured surface. Spread the dough out however you like (see above). Before rolling up the rolls, spread with 60ml butter. Roll gently, but tightly.
  5. Place the point side down on an ungreased cookie sheet. Cover with a kitchen towel, and rest 1 hour in a warm place.
  6. Preheat the oven to 200˚C (400˚F). Bake for 10-15 minutes, until gold.

 

