“Pizza” Pasta Salad

I often hear people say that California does not have any seasons. I, myself, used to be a firm believer of that claim. But since I moved here I have come to the realization that the truth is really quite different. It does get cold here. Leaves do turn yellow, red and brown and fall to the ground to form thick blankets. It does rain. Snow… Maybe not so much :-)

I have always been a summer girl. I probably always will be a summer girl. After high school when I had to choose whether to go to England or Australia to nanny for six months I chose Australia — simply because I knew the sun would be shining on my face there.

 

 

Why do I love summer so much? Because in the summer time I get invited to BBQ parties, I get to go to the beach, exercise becomes pleasant, friends from Denmark come to visit, I get to smell the beautifully colored flowers and freshly cut grass, there is no need to put on a jacket for the local farmer’s market in the evening, and I can wear summer dresses and sandals without being cold. Everything is alive and I love that!

Yesterday it had been two years since I moved to America. I cannot believe how fast time flies (and how old I am getting…)! That means that in a few days time I will be celebrating my third 4th of July here! There is something I absolutely love about the 4th. Maybe it is because I did not grow up with the holiday and for that reason do not have high expectations, yet the atmosphere and food are so enjoyable.

 

 

Tonight I made a pasta salad with summer sausage. I have named it pizza pasta salad because it really does taste like pizza – yet it is healthy — score! It would be perfect as a side dish to any juicy steak served on the day of blue, red and white! You can add whatever vegetables you want, just as you do when you make (or order) pizza.

Happy 4th of July, people!

 

 

 

“Pizza” Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 500ml uncooked pasta (2 cups)
  • 250g summer sausage, diced (1/2 lb)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 10 sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 250g cooked green beans, 1 inch long pieces (1/2 lb) 
  • 5 tbsp sundried tomato spread (if you can’t find store-bought you can make this yourself in a food processor. Process tomato paste, sundried tomatoes, sugar, garlic, oil, salt and oregano)
  • 6 artichoke hearts, chopped (optional)

Directions:

  1. Boil salted water and add the pasta. Cook to “al dente”. Drain and rinse pasta with cold water.
  2. Add all the ingredients to a boil and toss. Cool in the refrigerator.

 

