Mini Tarts with Peaches & Madeira Marinated Strawberries

These last couple of days my husband has been out of town on a business trip. I find that when that happens, I have so much time to kill! Ugh, it is not good for man (nor woman) to be alone! I am so glad I am not single anymore! :-)

As you might have guessed I spend  quite a bit of my extra time on my blog. I hope you enjoy reading it (and perhaps more importantly, looking at the pictures and trying out my recipes!) as much as I enjoy coming up with recipes, taking and editing pictures and, of course, writing my blog posts.

 

 

 

Today I wanted to make a Danish strawberry tart. But I did not just want to make the tradition version — although it is absolutely delicious (think crust, chocolate, custard, strawberries and red currant jelly). You can find it next to amazing pastries in almost every bakery in Denmark — and is particularly popular in the Summer time. It is not uncommon for the employee to run to the nearest bakery to get a couple of strawberry tarts for the Friday meeting.

 

 

So what did I do differently?

  1. I made several mini tarts rather than one big tart (I love party foods!),
  2. I made half of them peach rather than strawberry tarts (simply because I wanted more colors in the pictures) and
  3. I marinated the strawberries in Madeira wine and sugar before placing them on top of the tarts. You won’t believe how delicious and sweet they turn after 30 minutes of marinating!

As I do not drink alcohol I made sure to boil the wine for 30 minutes before marinating the strawberries in there.

 

 

My younger sister was actually who motivated to make this dessert today. When she was younger (I cant believe she is 19 today) she used to always make strawberry tarts. Over the years, however, she moved on to other delicous things (her current kick is oreo cake pops) and eventually lost her recipe.

 

 

When I talked to her on Skype yesterday I told her I had held on to the recipe (as I do with all my recipes — if I got a penny for every recipe I have I would be rich!) — and we both got really excited about making them :-) Who knows, maybe she made them too!

 

 

Is your stomach telling you anything yet?…………..

 

  

 

 ….. What about now?

 

 

I think by now you might be pretty ready to taste one of these! Unfortunately I can’t drop some off at your house, so you might just have to make them yourself ;-)

 

 

Mini Tarts with Peaches & Madeira Marinated Strawberries

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 400ml wheat flour (1 1/2 cup)
  • 1ooml powdered sugar (1/3 cup plus 2 tbsp)
  • 1 egg
  • 100g butter (1 stick minus 1 tbsp)

Madeira Marinated Strawberries:

  • 250ml Madeira wine (1 cup)
  • 5 tbsp sugar
  • 24 small strawberries

Custard:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 250ml milk (1 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 bar dark chocolate, 70%
  • 2 canned peach halves, cubed

Directions:

Crust:

  1. Preheat the oven to 230°C (450°F).
  2. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients with your hands until you can shape the dough into a ball.
  3. On a clean surface, roll the dough out thin (1/2 cm). Cut out 24 circles of dough with a small glass, round container or similar (I had some dough leftover so you could make more). 
  4. Spray a mini muffin pan with PAM. Place each of the circles in the pan.
  5. Place the pan in the oven and let the tarts cook for 6-8 minutes (I cooked mine for 6 1/2 minutes). Make sure they do not get too brown!
  6. Carefully take the tarts out of the pan and let them cool on a rack.     

Madeira Marinated Strawberries:

  1. Heat the Madeira and sugar in a pot, and let it boil on low for 30 minutes.
  2. Cool the mixture in the refrigerator.
  3. Once cooled, pour the mixture into a shallow bowl and add the strawberries. Turn them over after 15 minutes (unless they are covered). Let them marinate for another 15 minutes.

Chocolate:

  1. Break the bar into small pieces.
  2. Heat up the chocolate over a hot-water bath. Stir as the chocolate slowly melts.
  3. Brush a thin layer of chocolate on the inside of each mini tart. Let the chocolate set.

Custard and assembling:

  1. Combine the eggs and the sugar in a pot. Add the cornstarch and the milk.
  2. On low, heat the mixture while whisking constantly. Once the mixture turns into a thick custard, take it off the heat. Add vanilla to taste, and stir. Sprinkle extra sugar on top to avoid skin from forming. Let the custard cool in the refrigerator.
  3. Place the custard in a ziploc bag and cut a small hole on one of the bottom corners. Squeeze a small amount of custard into every tart. Add a strawberry (pat dry before placing it on top of the custard) or little peach pieces. Serve immediately.

 

