Pepper Pulled Pork Sandwich with Balsamic Red Cabbage, Apple Slices and Cream Cheese

Image

 

It has been so long since I last took pictures of anything I cooked, and wrote posts on Fahrenbite! To my followers, sorry if you were waiting around for a new post. The manager at my favorite cafe here in Los Angeles follows Fahrenbite, and every time I go get some of the delicious food there, he reminds me that he is excited to see another post on here. He sure did make me feel a little guilty :-) Now I am back, and I have plenty of great ideas up my sleeve :-)

 

Image

 

The biggest thing that has happened since last time you heard from me is that I went to South Korea with my husband. Back in the day he lived there for a couple of years. He learned to understand, speak and write the highly complicated language. He learned about the culture. He came to love the Korean people. It was amazing to see him be reunited with his past, to hear him speak Korean fluently, and meet with the people that he has not seen for almost 10 years. He showed me the cities, where he used to live, introduced me to the foods he used to eat. And I got to hear my fair share of Psy’s “Gangnam style”! Well, actually not. I would probably have to hear that song many more times before getting tired of it! They would play it in stores everywhere, perform the dance at a train station we went to. They were so impressed when my husband started singing/rapping the lyrics to the song and I showed the various dance moves! I want to go back so bad already. Travel sure is a blessing, and a curse!

 

Image

 

After my trip to South Korea I only slept a couple of nights in my own bed before heading out to New York. My parents and my younger sister flew in from Denmark, and together we drove across the States. We spent many hours in the car, and I was reminded of my youth, when we used to drive from Denmark to Italy. We saw many LDS church sites, which was the plan of the trip. It was such a great trip and if it weren’t for the fact that I got eaten alive by mosquitoes I would say, ‘Lets do that again’!

 

Image

 

So yeah, those are the main reasons why I have been absent :-) What I have cooked up for you today is actually yesterday’s dinner. It was one of those days where I had some nice meat in the fridge, but only red cabbage and an apple left to go with it. The combination made me think of Danish Christmas food, so I decided to try it out! And what a success. According to my husband this was ‘fantastic’.

 

Image

 

Some of the traditional Danish Christmas foods is pork belly (with the crisp skin on still…) and red cabbage cooked with apples, sugar and vinegar as a side dish. In some restaurants they will serve these ingredients in a sandwich, known as a flæskestegssandwich, or a pork belly sandwich, with pickles and a Danish version of remoulade. You could say this is a take on that sandwich. Or you could say that it’s not, and that way you can eat it all year round. I prefer the latter! :-)

 

Image

 

What you see in the background of most of the pictures is my unfinished artwork :-) I started on it yesterday, and it is definitely taking a longer time than I was expecting!

 

Image

 

Velbekomme (Danish for Bon Appétit) to you out there! And before I forget, happy Halloween! Don’t eat all the kids’ candy! ;-)

 

Image

 

Pepper Pulled Pork Sandwich with Balsamic Red Cabbage, Apple Slices and Cream Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 6 panini rustic rolls, or savory rolls of your choice, heated in the oven
  • 1-2 honeycrisp apples, thinly sliced
  • Cream cheese

Pepper pulled pork shoulder:

  • 1 950g pork shoulder (2 lb)
  • Pepper marinade of your choice

Balsamic red cabbage:

  • 1 head red cabbage
  • 10 tbsp balsamic vinegar (I used raspberry balsamic vinegar)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • A pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Pepper pulled pork shoulder: Marinate the pork shoulder in a pepper marinade, and leave it in the refrigerator for 24 hours. Slow cook the meat on low for 8-9 hours and pull the pork. Place it in the slow cooker until needed.
  2. Balsamic red cabbage: Wash the cabbage and shred it in a food processor. Place on a pan with the remaining ingredients. Cook on low for 15 minutes.
  3. Pepper Pulled Pork Sandwich with Balsamic Red Cabbage, Apple Slices and Cream Cheese: Assemble the sandwich; spread a layer of cream cheese on each roll, followed by the pork, the red cabbage and the apple slices. Serve immediately.

 

